Power Pack #8: Monsters

Power Pack Episode 8

20180613_211601

The final issue of the Dragon Man/Cloak and Dagger arc….Hooray! The children were left in a perilous position in the final pages of last issue. There is drugs, robots, fighting, and dancing. So many questions were asked, but probably none of them were like this.

 

What beer will see the talkative twosome of Jeff and Rick through these pages?

What crazy concepts and witty words will be dreamed up by the Power children?

What silly songs will escape the confines of Jeff’s beard?

Tune in to another exquisite episode of our family friendly podcast to find out.  

Dancing Queen

Featured in this episode are shout outs to: The Cardboard Kingdom ( @TheCardboardK ), Stumptown ( @ruckawriter ), and Resurrections Podcast ( @AdamThanosPod). And you can now support us on Patreon, https://www.patreon.com/JeffandRickPresent

Splash Page

 

Eighties Action by Kevin MacLeod
Link: https://incompetech.filmmusic.io/song/3703-eighties-action
License: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/

8bit Dungeon Boss by Kevin MacLeod
Link: https://incompetech.filmmusic.io/song/3330-8bit-dungeon-boss
License: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/

5 thoughts on “Power Pack #8: Monsters

  1. Hi Jeff & Rick! I finished binging your back catalog of episodes while doing yard work this weekend (of course when I got here I see you’ve got episode 9 coming out right now — great, I’m behind again).

    Love your show so much! Your enthusiasm and positive attitude makes this show so much fun! The segments are inspired and your listeners demand more singing! 🙂

    So glad y’all mentioned TAIL SPIN from Disney! In addition to reading the All-Ages POWER PACK books to my kids, we also watched a ton of the TAIL SPIN cartoon! My kids loved both!! I was always fascinated by Disney stealing the set-up of TALES OF THE GOLD MONKEY for TAIL SPIN (if you are unfamiliar, Google it. Quite strange.).

    Also glad y’all mentioned Dagger’s costume. Very uncomfortable situation. Impractical costume, insanely revealing, plus she’s supposed to be a teenager and yet she’s drawn like she’s in her 20’s. Awkward!!

    Regarding these issues, Simonson and Brigman really deserve a lot of credit for keeping this series so interesting. A book about four little kids could have turned silly or unbelievable, and yet each month they produced a fun and adventurous comic!

    Two closing thoughts… First, since you are in Portland, what are your favorite comic shops in town? When I’m in town, I always try to visit COSMIC MONKEY. Love that shop so much!

    Second, played your podcast promo on the most recent episode of my JUSTICE LEAGUE INTERNATIONAL: BWAH-HA-HA PODCAST! Hope it helps get the word out there!

    Keep up the great work, and look forward to the next, “Costumes On!”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for your support. More ears on our pod would be appreciated.

      We try our best to incorporate as much random pop culture into our script as we can…and some of it is deep cuts.

      Speaking as Rick, I live pretty close to Things From Another World in Milwaukie, so that is my shop of convince. One of my favorite shops, the one my daughter and wife love, is Books with Pictures. Very friendly and respectful shop. Growing up, my store was the Gateway Future Dreams.

      Funny you mentioned Cosmic Monkey. I had not thought about them for years. I remember when they first opened a store in the Gateway district. I think I went to high school with one of the owners brothers.

      Like

  2. Jeff here- Very familiar with Tales of the Gold Monkey, I watched the heck out of it as a kid. In fact I used a cassette recorder to record the theme of it because I loved it so much!

    As to comic shops, I was going to say Things as well.

    Thanks for getting us to make up a promo so you could play it, that was a fun spit balling session after we did a recording…only took 20 minutes or so to figure it out as well. Also, you want more singing? Your wish is granted! (waste of a wish that you didn’t know that you had) Many more parodies are in the pipe…in fact I think that I have far to many song ideas for the Morlock run…you have been warned.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.