Power Pack #46: The Great Goo-Gam Rip Off!

You can listen to the episode by clicking: Episode 60.

20200603_210043

Big Power welcome to our friend, Nicholas Prom from the Comic Reflections podcast and the Captain Freak-Out’s Psychedelic Radio.  He has also terrorized Rick with old school Legion of Super-hero stories. Nicholas’s knowledge of comic creators and comic history is deep and profound…about as much as his love for Dakota North.

During this show, we drank a beer called Private Eyes…..I think there may be something about the eyes in this book…..

Private Eyes

We have eyes that are concentrating, and we have eyes that are private.

Angry Girl

We have angry little girl eyes…..and this time it is not all Jack’s fault.

Angry

We have gun-fury filled dark eyes that guide the bullets to their ridiculous location

Whatever

We have eyes that are ridiculed, upset, and embarrassed.

Silence of the Gams

We have eyes that are scared Goo-Less….and possibly chlorine filled.

Heart boy

And finally, we have eyes that are in love…..aaahhhhh.

Rainbow

I hope you enjoyed our ocular journey through this issue. If not, we leave you with a happy rainbow.

Don’t forget to support us on Patreon, https://www.patreon.com/JeffandRickPresent.  We have started to release monthly episodes for our Energizer and greater tiers. We are covering the alternate versions mini-series that started in 2005.

You can also subscribe and listen to us on YouTube! 

We also have some merchandise over at Redbubble. We have a couple of nifty shirts for sale. https://www.redbubble.com/people/jeffrickpresent/?asc=u

Our show supports the Hero Initiative, Helping Comic Creators in Need.  http://www.heroinitiative.org/

Eighties Action by Kevin MacLeod
Link: https://incompetech.filmmusic.io/song/3703-eighties-action
License: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/

Showdown by Kevin MacLeod
Link: https://incompetech.filmmusic.io/song/4352-showdown
License: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/

5 thoughts on “Power Pack #46: The Great Goo-Gam Rip Off!

  1. This was definitely an issue of Power Pack that I read. Oh I kid, I liked it for what it was. It has the trappings of a hard-boiled noir mystery, but done as a kid-friendly farce, because that makes it work. The Punisher doesn’t do “noir”, he does murdery shooty town. And Dakota is almost more James Bond than “noir” herself. And the Pack, well, you know. But it’s a nice romp into a different kind of story, and I just go with it, silliness and all.

    So Katie’s tactic for big guys is to either climb them, or get their business cards. It’s true, the girl has no fear. Then there’s Jack. Dang, I’ve never had game with the ladies like Jack has, and never will. (Being jealous of an 8 year old boy. A new low for me. Yay.)

    I did read Dakota North’s series on Marvel Unlimited last year, and it was an interesting, quirky series. Not sure if I’d clamor for more, but I can see it being a “cult favorite” with a niche of readers, and I like that. Every series doesn’t have to have broad appeal.

    I could see that in this issue, they had Mark Badger for the inks to kind of capture the feel on DN’s comic. So it didn’t really even look like Whilce Portacio’s artwork. It looks like Badger’s art. It worked for the comedic vibe of the issue, but I’m not loving it on its own.

    Anyway, congrats on the fundraising this month! Well done, my Pack-Men!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I also read this issue and have the podcast to prove it. 🙂 It was a fun read, but it was also sort of an odd ball farce that leaves me wondering if I liked it or not.
      I am not familiar with Dakota North enough to know if she is noir or not. You are totally right about the Punisher though. Not noir, but very shooty.
      Katie’s superhero name should be Daredevil, because she is the girl with out fear! That said, most girls I know have been more than willing to assume that big guys are climbing gyms. Getting their business cards just makes sense for our most crossovered member of Power Pack.
      Not to brag, but unlike Jack, my game with the ladies is Solitaire… because I spent most of my time alone. Ha! I kid! It was actually Clue, but they needed to bring it, because I didn’t have one. Get it? That’s some premium comedy there! Right? No, seriously, was it… I don’t know.
      I might read the DN series on the MU…but I might not. Haven’t rushed to it yet so odds are low if I am being honest.
      Hope you and your family are doing well, Packman away!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Solitaire? Clue? Are you … me? No wait, I forgot, my game with the ladies was Sorry. Nuff said.

        Yes, that’s some premium malt beer comedy! As in, I don’t know what malt beer tastes like either.

        The big question I forgot to ask: which Frank will Katie team up with next? First Richards, now Castle. Maybe Frank N Stein?

        All the best to you and yours!

        Like

    1. Like most of our covering, everything is subjective. Katie is an excellent choice for best kid…she just wasn’t my choice. That said, who else has punked the Punisher? I means, other than Dakota North that is?
      -Jeff

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.