Amazing Spider-Man V1 #666: Spider-Island – Prologue: The One and Only

You can listen to the episode by clicking: Episode 134

It is Spidey time!!! We have a costumed crusader, we have an island, and we have a LOT of spiders….They are everywhere. So let’s take some time and talk about spider stuff.

Beer and Book

The Spider Flip is apparently part of a course redesign in an American Ninja Warrior show. It was an obstacle that was used, but was incredibly tough. They should have had Agent Venom do it. Boom. All done.

Flippy Flippy

Spider Kick is a gym that emphasizes health and well being. They use martial arts philosophy and training to accomplish this. I do not know if they inject their patrons with spider juice so they can do split kicks.

Kicky Kicky

Here are the ingredients for Spider Punch. For the instructions, ask Shanghai Chi.

  • Thin black licorice ropes
  • Black sanding sugar (optional)
  • Corn syrup (for the rim of glass, optional)
  • Grenadine syrup
  • Ice
  • Orange juice
  • Straws
Punchy Punchy

Lets talk about spider science. No one teaches spiders how to make their webs; they just seem to know. This stumps scientists a bit, but this fact is an excellent example of how even the tiniest insects somehow know how to keep themselves alive.

Sciency Sciency

Do you know that you can make bets on spider fights. I mean, you can bet on anything, and I am sure that there are some people that would say that there are no victims in a spider fight. But I would say, we all are victims.

Betty Betty

Dodge Ram Black Widow. Rugged Luxury. Redefined. No truck on the road is as intimidating in factory form as the RAM line of pickups. We add in our Premium lift components, custom wheels and luxurious interior details to set you apart from the pack. Explore our full line today.

Dodgy Dodgy

Spidey Swing is a fun-addicting Spider-man rope swing game that you can play online and for free on Silvergames.com. Control the Peter Parker rag doll in his spidey costume through all stages using his well-known spider web. Try to jump from one spot to another swinging, letting go and shooting your powerful spider web again. Avoid hitting the walls and other obstacles too hard or the poor, masked superhero will suffer serious injuries, like losing a leg or an arm… or his precious spidey life. Earn up to 3 stars on every level and show you have what it takes to be a hero.

Swingy Swingy

I hope you all learned something. I learned how to search for things on the internet.

We also have some merchandise over at Redbubble. We have a couple of nifty shirts for sale. https://www.redbubble.com/people/jeffrickpresent/?asc=u

You can also subscribe and listen to us on YouTube! 

Our show supports the Hero Initiative, Helping Comic Creators in Need.  http://www.heroinitiative.org/

Eighties Action by Kevin MacLeod 
Link: https://incompetech.filmmusic.io/song/3703-eighties-action 
License: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/ 
 
The Road Home [2023] by Alexander Nakarada
https://filmmusic.io/song/10745-the-road-home-2023
License (CC BY 4.0): https://filmmusic.io/standard-license

2 thoughts on “Amazing Spider-Man V1 #666: Spider-Island – Prologue: The One and Only

  1. Belated greetings to you both!

    I finished listening to this latest episode the day after it dropped, but, I was in the middle of the school year concluding. All the events, activities, and ceremonies associated can be overwhelming. I’m glad and relieved to send this out to you both.

    Rick, you mentioned your sister-in-law’s memoirs on the episode. I have just received copies of them late last week and plan on reading them soon. When I googled Nicole’s name, I had no idea how big and noteworthy her first memoir had been. In fact, it looks like she’s gotten notice at NPR, USA Today, and other outlets. That’s pretty impressive. I thought of you both and your geocaching when my town’s library had a notice it would be holding a class about geocaching later this summer.

    Onto the book itself. I have read many good things regarding Spider Island, and hearing you both talk it sounds like it is quite a fun read. I have to admit I like a lot of what Dan Slott has written regarding Spider-Man, but have some glaring omissions I need to rectify. I was always curious about his Superior Spider-Man title which I have read was quite ingenious in story. The artwork you showcase on this story looks light and fun.

    Did you see where Marvel announced a miniseries for the character Jean Grey with Louise Simonson writing? That’s interesting to me that you can order that, yet the Power Pack mini has yet to get the notice. I hope that book sees the light of day sometime this year.

    I hope your days are fun and not too busy. Is the reading going to take you both to Avengers Academy coming soon? I think Rick has mentioned Julie is in that title.

    Talk to you soon,
    Jeremy

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello hello!

      It really seems like school’s pack 12 months of activities into 9 months of schooling…and a lot of it slops into the end of the school year. I am sure that you are/were as busy as a busy thing with all of it. Looking forward to hearing about your summering activities.

      Yup, it seems like Nicole is a name in literary circles. In fact, mutual friends of ours had been following her writing before we knew of the relations that were yet to be discovered and they were nervous to meet her due to being star struck. Not me though, I was just excited to meet Cindy’s sister. Spent most of my time at her local book tour bigwig dinner watching her get swamped while I meet her husband and kids. Got to talk to her a bit when we were moving things to some stuff to cars. No real story there, it was just nice to meet Cindy’s sister. One of these days I will read her books, but today is not that day.

      Oh, if you haven’t geocached before, it is worth doing. It is also the dumbest way to spend some time sometimes, but also sometimes it is the best way to spend some time. I’ve met a bunch of great people doing it (and Rick…take the good with the bad I guess). One of the things that I like about it is that it takes you to neat places around where you live that you wouldn’t have known about otherwise. Parks, trails, art and history that had been around you unfound for years.

      Spider Island and Superior Spider-Man were amazing. I need to read them again. Superior raised a lot of ire with the changes they made, but it’s comics, things always reset to one.

      I did not know Weezie was doing a Jean Grey miniseries. Cool. I have recently found out that the PP mini has been bumped to next year to coincide with the 40 year anniversary. Marvel going for that synergy money. So not cancelled, whew, just intentionally delayed.

      Sadly, my days are not too fun, but they are super busy. Ugh. Hoping to get past this chore mountain and get to a point where I can do some stuff just for me or just for fun. We will be getting into Avenger’s Academy in the sometime further down the road. When? I don’t know, that would require me looking at a calendar and I just don’t have it in me at the moment to do that.

      Later gator.

      -Jeff

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.