Interview with Hilary Barta

You can listen to the episode by clicking: Episode 89

The Interview

Another interview….are we insane!!!????!!! Well, maybe. We were not sure what we would be getting into once we asked Power Pack Inker Hilary Barta to talk with us…and we are still not sure what happened, but we do know it was a lot of fun.

Power Pack 36

The range of topics for the discussion wandered over art styling, development of skill, breaking into the business, lawn work, and animals. We also talked about some music, or at least his work on the comic version of Shakedown Street.

Shakedown Street

We also managed to talk a bit about his work on Power Pack and his friendship with Jon Bogdanove. It is always amazing to talk to creators who work with other great creators, and listening to stories and tales about how much they respect each other.

Power Pack # 47 by Jon Bogdanove & Hilary Barta | Marvel comic books, Comic  book cover, Comic book covers
Power Pack 47

We also managed to ask him about some of his other work, specifically giving some of the love to Plastic Man. Hilary had the opportunity to draw a mini-series that he was very proud about.

Plastic Man by Hilary Barta. Comic Art
Plastic Man

But above all else, we were able to talk about his love of the wacky and crazy. From his Screwy Tuesday posts to his Mars Attacks work and especially his work on What The!? Hilary is someone who loves the silly and goofy.

Mars Attacks

Don’t forget to support us on Patreon, https://www.patreon.com/JeffandRickPresent.  We have started to release monthly episodes for our Energizer and greater tiers. We are covering the alternate versions mini-series that started in 2005.

You can also subscribe and listen to us on YouTube! 

We also have some merchandise over at Redbubble. We have a couple of nifty shirts for sale. https://www.redbubble.com/people/jeffrickpresent/?asc=u

Our show supports the Hero Initiative, Helping Comic Creators in Need.  http://www.heroinitiative.org/

Eighties Action by Kevin MacLeod
Link: https://incompetech.filmmusic.io/song/3703-eighties-action
License: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/

2 thoughts on “Interview with Hilary Barta

  1. Good afternoon gentlemen!

    Greetings from the flat and socially backwards area of southeast Missouri! I was finally able to listen to the interview and once again have to commend you both for the great episode! It helps that the fine artists who worked on this title have been generous with recollections and seem to be really great people to boot!

    I have developed a fondness for the process of book production is being discussed. Barta has quite the interesting career! It makes me a little wistful for when the hobby was more a niche thing instead of the all encompassing entertainment juggernaut it has become in the last decade or so, Call me old, but the times dissecting minutiae of X stories are far more fun and memorable than someone enjoying a Marvel property enough to give a wiki awareness of the character, and draw a blank when you nerd talk in reply.

    I hope you guys and your families are staying safe. My job has been pretty rough in day to day staffing as the D variant is running rampant, an overworked and understaffed county health department is trying to keep up, and work has seen staff knocked down by 1/3 from quarantine and infection. I hope this trend reverses soon.

    I am ordering a show shirt to represent on the floor of a nearby convention in a few weeks. Any more people I can persuade to listen to a family friendly program on a great Marvel property will make me happy. You guys deserve a growing audience and I feel compelled to do so out of gratitude.

    Looking forward to the next episode!
    Jeremy

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey hey, Jere-may!!! (Does that work??? I feel like it does. 🙂 )

      There is always that worry of meeting your heroes, but it does seem like all the Power Pack people were pretty great. I am amazed that they have the recollections that they do. Very rarely have we hit a blank on a question. Sometimes they might be a little fuzzy, but for the most part they hundred percent it. This astounds me as I forget about stuff we say on the podcast a month later. 🙂

      I get what you mean by the niche comment. I made a friend in highschool because he shoved a piece of paper he was doodling on and asked if I knew who a stick figure drawing of a character was. It was Banshee and when I told him that he was stopped flat. He said no one knows who Banshee is. Through him I made some friends that I have still to this day. Ahhh, nerd joinery is a pretty amazing thing. That said, some nerd joinery is just painful to me. I am a fickle wind that way I guess. Still, while I know what you mean, I am just glad that more people are getting exposed to and liking stuff that I like. Lots of my hidden nerd cred is pretty mainstream these days…which is weird to me. Still, I’m not a gatekeeper, so welcome to the fold one and all. On the other hand though…ugh, my flip floppery comes to the fore.

      We’re doing pretty good. Just waiting for a kid vaccine to be approved. To thirds of our house is vaxxed, so we a still pretty tucked in do to that four year old holdout. We get out a bit…but not really. Kinda lonely to be honest, but I think that happens to most parents anyways. Man I miss groups of friends. That said, I’m not bored as we are super busy with all the chores based hobbies (read as chores) we need to do all the time.

      I think I recall that you are a teacher. If so, man, that is a hard pull right now. We have been trying to figure out our preschool stuff and have just decided to wait for kid vaccine to happen. So we have lots of doing stuff with kid time.

      You got a shirt to promote our show to people at a convention?? Swoon! You, sir, have given me the vapors!

      Talk at you later, buddy.

      -Jeff

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.