Power Pack #19: Guess Who’s Coming to Dinner?

You can listen to the episode by clicking: Episode 23.

20190102_214304

If you only listen to one episode of our podcast this month, then first, shame on you, and second it should be this one!!!! So call a friend and tell them!!!!

ringin phone

Here it is, the double sized infamous Thanksgiving issue! That’s right! This is the one with the insane meal that includes Beta Ray Bill, Wolverine, Leech, Cloak and Dagger….

eatin dirt

AND MORE!!!!

kissin boys

It also has errant balloons and angry lizards! YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO LISTEN TO THIS!!!!

bein mad

DO IT!!!! Or we will stick you in a box, like Leech!!!!

feelin sad

Seriously, this is one of the most iconic issues of this series. And it is a beautiful book and a great story.  It also includes balloons…and everybody likes balloons. Except Wolverine.

cuttin string

So listen to this episode! And don’t forget to tie your shoes!

tyin shoes

Also, please check out Sean ( @Sean42AZ ) and Greg’s ( @garaujo1 ) excellent Secret Wars and Beyond podcast to learn more about Secret Wars II and to hear Rick talk with them about this issue.

http://secretwars.libsyn.com/-marvels-secret-wars-beyond-season-2-episode-6

wipin tears
Don’t cry, you can support us on Patreon, https://www.patreon.com/JeffandRickPresent. We have started to release monthly episodes for our Energizer and greater tiers. We are covering the alternate versions mini-series that started in 2005.  

 

seein spaceliftin cars

 

 

8 thoughts on “Power Pack #19: Guess Who’s Coming to Dinner?

  1. Hmm, pretty sure I wrote lots of feedback for Secret Wars & Beyond podcast when this issue was covered there. Let me go check. Please hold.

    (click, doo-doo-dum-de-doo, Like a surgeon, cuttin for the very first tiiiiime, like a sur-ur-ur-ur-geon, click)

    HAHAHA! Oh that’s priceless! How very me! Way to go, me from last year! Aaaahhh.

    What? Thoughts on your show? So this is all about you now? Sheesh, you Patreon a podcast, and never hear the end of it. Man, so needy.

    Bad Granny. The picture on that label is hilarious, and yes, easy to see why it was chosen for this issue.

    Was this story just a clever excuse to have Mighty Mouse in a Marvel Comic? I mean, he’s flying around New York City with other Marvel characters around. Were Louise or Brent big Mighty Mouse fans? Just have to wonder.

    Every page with Leech just made me love him more and want him to be my friend, because he’s a sweet kid and I’d want to do stuff with him. We’ll ride bikes and get ice cream from Dairy Queen and play catch and I need to stop cuz he’s a comic character and I’m a grown man….

    Dagger kissing Alex. Oh my. The facial expressions in that panel are just the best.

    What am I thankful for? Glad you asked! I’m thankful I still get a thrill when you give me a shout-out on the air. And I’m thankful for great podcasts like yours, and all of the friends I continue to make through these shows. The internet can still be a fun place.

    Time to Pack it in. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Spent way to much time trying to track down your Secret Wars & Beyond podcast comments and finally have decided to give up. 🙂 If you were me you could have done the old cut and paste from your previous comment and we would have been none the wiser, but no, you went to the trouble of actually writing a new response. For that and your constant engagement with the show is why we gladly give you shout outs. So again, thanks to you Tim!

      When we get to interview Louise we will have to ask her about her parade balloon selection. Hmmm, something for the growing list of questions that we have for her.

      Till next time, have a good one Tim.

      Jeff

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Man, I’m sorry! I found the SW&B episode, but I couldn’t find any comment either. I was joking about reading the old one. … (*hides*) … please don’t Snark me.

    I think all of my old posts on SW&B have disappeared, maybe related to Google+ shutting down? It made me sad.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. If there is one thing that I know (made up) about the Thing, it’s that he hates children. Welcome to spontaneous, made up on the spot bit that made me laugh. (If I am remembering the bit correctly, going to have to re-listen to this episode.)
      -Jeff

      Like

    1. Man oh man, I have a hard enough time remembering things from the last episode that we recorded, so remembering something from a year and a half ago is beyond me. Glad that you agree with my statement which I totally do or do not stand by at this time. 🙂
      -Jeff

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.