Power Pack #57: Fire

You can listen to the episode by clicking: Episode 75.

Beer and Comic

Who is that knocking on the door to our spaceship?…..Why none other than Shagg from the Fire and Water Network! While he may have heard the word fire, and seen a pretty lady on the cover, I think that he thought that Storm was going be in this issue as he kept saying, and messing up, her name.

Cloudy with a chance of powerballs.

Firestorm, Firestorm, Firestorm…the man is confused. This isn’t an X title and that isn’t Storm’s proper name anyways. But, that said, I can see how he might have been confused. If this was Storm, and she now had flame powers then this name makes perfect sense. After all, this character could be a “Super Star”!!

Superstar!!

Wait, was this Storm in one of the X titles? Maybe an Inferno issue that I missed? So hard to keep up with all the different storylines and heel turns that go on every six months.

And now I’m evil for some reason.

Ahhh, our resident Talking Head informs me that I am the one that is confused. Shagg is referencing his favorite character that happens to be on a different network and that this is actually Nova…no, not that one…in her Human Torch form and her in her Twisted Cosmic Tea form that somehow turned her incompetent and evil. Good to know Talking Head, thanks for the info!

I-I-I-I-I-I-I-I-I-I-I-I-I ain’t got no body.

Talking Head says that there is a price for knowledge that I must pay. I wonder what he means by that?

Beaver Boy Bites Back!

My hair!! Talking Head ate my hair! This is driving me loopy!!

Honestly though, finding a bald spot the first time is pretty traumatic.

And speaking of going loopy. Julie feels the same way about Talking Heads unexpected prices.

We’re gonna need a bigger boat.

Also unexpected, were a couple of beefy adults cosplaying as Alex and Jack.

Beefy Boys, 80’s big hair and a tired Katie.

And speaking of beefy adults, feast your eyes on these guys! (Shagg, Rick and Jeff…only one of us was smart enough to bring an action figure to play with incase they got bored.)

Three Men and a Firestorm.

And speaking of feasting your eyes, these eyes seem like they have feasted to much. They have seen things. Things they were never meant to see. Things like:

This cloud has seen some stuff.

A spaceship fighting a giant lizard man in Central Park that is only wearing their tighty whities…yeah, you heard me right.

Bikini Brief Battle Beast from Beyond the Stars!

And this Underoos championing space beast can only be defeated by The Stimulator!! Just to make sure you heard me: The Stimulator has to be used on the bikini briefs beast before bedtime…boy, what a bother!

The Stimulator is to hot to handle!

Don’t forget to support us on Patreon, https://www.patreon.com/JeffandRickPrecnsent.  We have started to release monthly episodes for our Energizer and greater tiers. We are covering the alternate versions mini-series that started in 2005.

You can also subscribe and listen to us on YouTube! 

We also have some merchandise over at Redbubble. We have a couple of nifty shirts for sale. https://www.redbubble.com/people/jeffrickpresent/?asc=u

Our show supports the Hero Initiative, Helping Comic Creators in Need.  http://www.heroinitiative.org/

Eighties Action by Kevin MacLeod
Link: https://incompetech.filmmusic.io/song/3703-eighties-action
License: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/

Neon Laser Horizon by Kevin MacLeod
Link: https://incompetech.filmmusic.io/song/7015-neon-laser-horizon
License: https://filmmusic.io/standard-license
  

2 thoughts on “Power Pack #57: Fire

  1. Hey guys,

    This was a fun episode to listen to considering the issue. I dig Shagg showing up and enjoyed the information regarding Steve Lightle. I remember seeing his covers on Marvel Comics Presents, and, it seemed he was quite liked in the comics industry.

    The early 90’s before Image is such a peculiar time in that several books were getting a lot of attention, and it felt like, “well, what next?”

    Keep up the great work. I appreciate the time and effort spent in producing this bi-weekly show. It gives me the feeling of being able to listen and visit with a couple of friends who bonded over common interest, analyzing adolescent adventures, while drinking Coke Zero in my case lol.

    Like

    1. It was nice getting to virtually hang out with Shagg for awhile. I didn’t get to meet him when he was in town last time due to reasons (cough, baby, cough) but Rick did and got to have a great time. What is nice about this is that I got to have a great time with them this time and talk comics.

      Glad you are liking what we do, and the liking the chatting with friends vibes that we give off. Honestly, that’s all this is. It is a chance to hang out with a buddy, talk about things that we like, and mostly, try and make each other laugh. If other friends we haven’t met yet want to join us while we do this then that is amazing…especially if we can bring them some joy and laughter with the silly things that we do.

      Later, Jeremy.
      -Jeff

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.