Power Pack V2 #4: Ascension

You can listen to the episode by clicking: Episode 97

Beer and Book

And we made it to the end of this mini series, and to the end of a regular all Power Pack story for a while. So, sit right back, make yourself comfortable and get ready for a tale.

Snarkspreading

Woahh there chief, not that comfortable! Remember, family show so let’s keep it neat and tidy, OK! Remember, Julie is watching you and your inappropriate moves.

Watchin You

We are pretty sure that this series was cut short. There were a number of plots and stories that just dissipated to no where. There was a lot of “remember that” and “let’s bring back this thing”, and it was not….great….

Settle Down Drama Pants

What was great? Well, some of the stuff that is coming up. I mean, we should look forward to what is the good stuff. Some new stories, some new writers, some new artists. The era of this Power Pack is over.

Watchin You

I guess this could be seen as a new book that would give the new readers a chance to meet Power Pack, and bring in interest to the book. There are just a couple of problems with this. First, the characters as they are presented are not fun or interesting. Second, they drop the group until the alternate universe all ages book five years later.

Give Me Three

So as we run away from this series and towards whatever is coming up next, let’s remember that we will not fight. If you liked these books more than we did, it is OK. It is alright to like something we did not like. This is our opinion only.

Family Love

One last thing, we do love hearing from you, our fans. Please let us know how we are doing. We plan to keep going with our coverage of comics featuring the Power Kids, so we want to know what you think.

Please Leave Your Message About Life, the Universe, and Everything

Don’t forget to support us on Patreon, https://www.patreon.com/JeffandRickPresent.  We have started to release monthly episodes for our Energizer and greater tiers. We are covering the alternate versions mini-series that started in 2005.

You can also subscribe and listen to us on YouTube! 

We also have some merchandise over at Redbubble. We have a couple of nifty shirts for sale. https://www.redbubble.com/people/jeffrickpresent/?asc=u

Our show supports the Hero Initiative, Helping Comic Creators in Need.  http://www.heroinitiative.org/

Eighties Action by Kevin MacLeod
Link: https://incompetech.filmmusic.io/song/3703-eighties-action
License: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/

Winner Winner! by Kevin MacLeod
Link: https://incompetech.filmmusic.io/song/4630-winner-winner-
License: https://filmmusic.io/standard-license

4 thoughts on “Power Pack V2 #4: Ascension

  1. Greetings friends!

    I just finished listening to the latest episode and have to say I am glad I am a patron of the show! I will need to really start listening to the all ages minis you both are covering there. I would be trying to order some books via my comic shop but when I last checked, those titles were out of stock.

    I second the opinion of this miniseries being a lobbed off ongoing as it has the hastily wrapped syndrome as a story beat. I will opt for Doran’s artwork for a book like Power Pack over Tom Morgan, but I agree with the view that some of the work really looks rushed in spots as if it were under a deadline crunch.

    I am looking forward to the Runaways episode coming soon! I collected that book when it first hit many years ago and I have a fondness for BKV’s characterization. I remember Julie in there but it has been years since I read the title.

    I hope you both and your families have a very Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

    Jeremy

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy holidays, buddy!!

    I think that you will like the all ages episodes that we do on Patreon. It is basically what we do on the main show, so you already know what you are getting. Enjoy! Also, you can find them on Marvel Unlimited if you are a subscriber to that. That’s how I have been reading them anyways.

    The art is not really my cup of tea in these books. That said, some of it looks fine but a lot does have that rush it to deadline feel to it. That or this was an unwanted assignment that someone had to fill, and it fell to this artist with the understanding that whatever they drew would be put to paper. Honestly don’t know and am just spit balling. Maybe someday we will find out the truth of the matter, which means I should try and track some people down for an interview.

    Never got into the Runaways. Think I have read a trade here or there from the library but not entirely sure. Rick is the one that told me Julie was in it and it kept cracking it up every time I would think about it. Yeah, Julie is gonna fit in with this group super well. Curious to see where the stories take us.

    Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays and Seasons Greetings to you and yours. Looking forward to when next we talk.

    -Jeff

    Like

  3. Whew! You made it! You guys paid your dues covering this one, but I appreciate you still making it fun to listen to your discussion, even though the story had so many problems.

    But I must take issue with your complaint about “splitting the party.” Excuse me, but the JLA *always* splits into duos or solos, trounce the separate threats, then come back together at the end, and save the day! This is superhero basics, sirs!

    Back when I first read this series, I felt more favorably to Colleen Doran’s artwork. It’s really good for other comics. But this revisit showed she was trying to ape the 90s extreme, and boy, that didn’t work for me at all. I also had hopes that something was being built storywise, but the last 2 issues obviously had to wrap that up pronto. Sigh. I agree with you that the series was probably not intended to be a miniseries, and got unexpectedly canceled. Ending with a whimper, not a power ball.

    Now you’re getting into new territory for me. I’ve read very little with the Power kids after this point until Alex joins the Future Foundation. So I’m looking forward to the journey.

    Keep the power, my Pack-Men!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Happy New Year, Tim!!

      Glad you enjoyed the listen. This story did have issues. What’s weird is that the main series ended as a Fantastic Four side load and this seemed like a side load of Power Pack….which is strange, as it is a Power Pack comic. Does that make sense? While there was some unique there, it borrowed so heavy from it’s own history that it blocked out anything new that might have been gained from it. The characters were all characters of themselves, the sick mom storyline needs to be retired, so on so on and so on.

      It was nice of Jakal to just stand back and wait for the heroes to complete their discussion on politics though before attacking.

      While splitting the party is a superhero staple, gotta have them team ups and solo issues, I was approaching the joke from a D&D perspective where splitting the party is a BAD IDEA. That and the fact that these kids were pretty flaily and faily with their heroics, so I feel like them splitting up would be dangerous for them.

      I think that Doran’s art would have been great for this series IF: they decided to make it a school romance/drama focus with some mild heroics thrown in. But, this what we got. Maybe it worked for some people, we just weren’t one of them. In fact, I would be overjoyed if there were readers out there that loved this and told us why as I have no shade to throw at them and want PP to get all the love possible.

      We are in new territory for me as well. I have read the recent Jeremy Whitley Future Foundation stuff though so I have bookended my ignorance nicely.

      Happy days, Tim. Talk to you later.

      -Jeff

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.