Power Pack #40: Fire with Fire

You can listen to the episode by clicking: Episode 52.

Beer

When last we left our courageous kids, they had been hit with a couple of major setbacks. First, their friend Rebecca was kidnapped by their mortal enemy, the Boogeyman. Then the boys were grounded because said mortal enemy dropped off some pictures of them hanging out of their apartment window in their civilian clothes.  But things could always be worse….I mean, none of Power Pack has turned into a demon queen.

Demon

Yeah….that would be worse and harder to explain. No, the family should be happy. They have each other. I mean, as long as they don’t tear each other apart.

Turkey

They also have friends, like the New Mutants!  That’s right….the other teen team that was kicking around the Marvel Universe at this time. Boy, they can sure make an entrance though.

Surprise

You know what is tricky about describing these comics through pictures that we chose and talked about a month ago, and then started to set up the page with a gag, and then forgot about it until the night before you are supposed to launch the podcast and the website?  That…That is the tricky thing. It is a bit like a kick to the trousers.

Junk

I guess there is not much more I can say about this issue except that it features two teams of kids that Louise Simonson loved to write about during the 80’s. And that is pretty cool. It makes you wanna fly high in the sky, being all nigh invulnerable and stuff.

Shiny

Because we launch on Sunday’s, and because the next picture I show is the parents getting all dressed up, I guess I should tell you that it is time to put on your Sunday best and listen to our podcast. But you are such great listeners, I really do not want to tell you what to wear while listening to us.  Except clown shoes….no clown shoes.

Vaccuum

We do have great listeners and fans. We wish we could shake every one of your hands. Unfortunately, our fat stacks of money have not yet rolled in, so we cannot fly out to each and every one of your houses. If we did, I am sure Jeff would give you a kiss. (Except not because of social distancing….actually the flying thing sounds frightening right now)

Kiss

And speaking of thanks, a BIG final thanks to Hoover Jeremiah for an amazing gift.  This is truly a thing of beauty (the poster, not Jeff and Rick). Thank you so much.

Poster

 

Don’t forget to support us on Patreon, https://www.patreon.com/JeffandRickPresent.  We have started to release monthly episodes for our Energizer and greater tiers. We are covering the alternate versions mini-series that started in 2005.

You can also subscribe and listen to us on YouTube! 

We also have some merchandise over at Redbubble. We have a couple of nifty shirts for sale. https://www.redbubble.com/people/jeffrickpresent/?asc=u

Our show supports the Hero Initiative, Helping Comic Creators in

Need.  http://www.heroinitiative.org/

Eighties Action by Kevin MacLeod
Link: https://incompetech.filmmusic.io/song/3703-eighties-action
License: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/

Pinball Spring 160 by Kevin MacLeod
Link: https://incompetech.filmmusic.io/song/4217-pinball-spring-160
License: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/

 

4 thoughts on “Power Pack #40: Fire with Fire

  1. Last things first: that poster is AWESOME!

    As for the issue at hand, I’m trying to figure out why it took 10 superhero kids to take down Bogeyman and the “gently used, refurbished weapons” from Toyman’s fire sale. Oh it was great fun, and maybe this is supposed to be setting up B-man as a bigger threat. But nah. (Now his next appearance… MWAH-HAH-HAH!)

    I loved Alex using his head to short out Cannonball’s powers. Yes, not great on thinking thru the consequences, but it was using his power in a new way which he hasn’t done as much of. Alex hasn’t pushed himself like that since the Hobgoblin issue. Just excellent.

    Jack getting a kiss from Illyana. Teenage girls love the bad boys. Groan. (Don’t remind me how old my daughters are.)

    But in general, team-ups between Power Pack and the New Mutants were always fun. They were the closest to peers for each other, so it’s a joy for them to interact. Oh, to have had a PP-NM crossover event, without the other X-books in the way.

    I think that’s all for this time. Thanks for letting me contribute to the episode, it sounded so cool! Keep on Packin’! (uh, that doesn’t sound right)

    Like

    1. Yeah, that poster came out of nowhere and is amazing. Rick is going to be the custodian of it and it breaks my heart…well, no it doesn’t but I felt there needed to be some drama here. 🙂

      Other than flying high, read into that what you will, Boogeyman really isn’t a threat to the two combined teams…or even one team…or even a sad Sunspot…Any ways, I just like it when the teams get together. Seems like the NM really like having a different team of near aged heroes to gang around with without all of the X baggage getting in the way. Hmm, I just realized that Magik and Jack would actually be the same age if it weren’t for comic book shenanigan’s going on. Mentally shipping them now.

      I won’t remind you of your daughters ages if you don’t remind me about your daughters ages….by that I mean I don’t know how old they are.

      Take care in this the darkest of all timelines, and know that I wish you and yours good health and good access to toilet paper.

      -Jeff

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh right, Magik’s pre limbo age would make her Jack’s peer! Nice!
    I won’t tell you my daughters are 14yo, because then you might remind me.
    I meant to say I sympathize with the doctor stuff, Jeff, especially for your parents. Four in one day is crazy pants! But gotta be done.
    May the TP be with you! ( I can say that because of my initials. ) and wishing for good health for you and your packs.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.