Power Pack #51: The Numinus

You can listen to the episode by clicking: Episode 68.

Yes….that is Whoopi Goldberg.

Whoopi

Still Whoopi. This is a thing. You know it is coming, you talk to the creator about why, but nothing really prepares you for the reality of….Whoopi.

Whhhhhhaaaat?

Yup…we are right there with Power Pack. But wait. I am forgetting something….Oh yeah. We have a guest! All the way from the Worst Comic Podcast Ever (https://wcpever.com/), we have our second of the the three hosts, Jerry McMullen (@EssentialShowca) to join us on this ……It is WHOOPI flipping Goldberg!

Coming Through

The kids are busting through the door and want me focus on the comic book and just ….let it go. Fine. Fine. I will try to focus on the issue. Let’s see, what do we have here.

Boom II

Oh look, Maraud has blown up the gas giant behind the Kymellian space station with the giant murder log that she burgled….burglar…. BURGLAR!!!! No…wait…not going down the rabbit hole.

I HAVE THE POWER

Ok…what else. Oh…look. It is Alex loosing control of his power by getting high on taking in too much energy. Oh goody. And now he is standing next to Jack while he is jumping with joy as he is flashing with power…..wait….hang on……Jumping….Jack….Flash…NO!

POWER

And now we have Queen Maraud bursting with power as she has stolen all of the Powers from the powers. So a power transfer. Again. Listen sister, we have seen this act before and we know that is going to end bad for….for…wait.. SISTER ACT! C’Mon!

Palm of her Hand

We cannot get away from this. Whoopi is in this issue, and that is just a thing we all have to deal with. But the good news is that I am through all of the images we wanted to share. Well….there is just one more. Sigh. Ladies and Gentlemen…the bathroom.

Snark Bathroom

Don’t forget to support us on Patreon, https://www.patreon.com/JeffandRickPresent.  We have started to release monthly episodes for our Energizer and greater tiers. We are covering the alternate versions mini-series that started in 2005.

You can also subscribe and listen to us on YouTube! 

We also have some merchandise over at Redbubble. We have a couple of nifty shirts for sale. https://www.redbubble.com/people/jeffrickpresent/?asc=u

Our show supports the Hero Initiative, Helping Comic Creators in Need.  http://www.heroinitiative.org/

Eighties Action by Kevin MacLeod
Link: https://incompetech.filmmusic.io/song/3703-eighties-action
License: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/

One-eyed Maestro by Kevin MacLeodLink: https://incompetech.filmmusic.io/song/4170-one-eyed-maestro
License: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/

6 thoughts on “Power Pack #51: The Numinus

  1. Hooray! It’s Whoopi Goldberg! I knew Power Pack was going to meet Whoopi Goldberg, and I vaguely remember this issue with Whoopi Goldberg, because it was such a trip to see Whoopi Goldberg in a comic. And wow, you guys sure said “Whoopi Goldberg” a lot in this episode. I’m just Guinan along with it. Get it? “Guinan along?” Get it? … Hello? …

    Whoopi Goldberg.

    Hey, did you mention that the belt of Numinus (Whoopi Goldberg) has a mobius strip on it, just like the shape of the Kymellian space mall? Coincidence? Indicative of a greater bond between space ponies and Numinus (Whoopi Goldberg)? Or the artist not paying attention? Why do Kymellians wear their cutie marks on their chests? Is Power Pack’s real power the magic of friendship? Have I already forgotten the question? We may never know.

    (*whispers* whoopi goldberg.)

    Wait, has Kofi just joined the Force Four? *gasp* Are they now the FORCE FIVE?!?! Aw yeah! It’s clip-cloppering time! … I’m sorry, it’s been a long century this year.

    (Puts on Whoopi Goldberg T-shirt.)

    One reason I thought Numinus (Whoopi Goldberg) was put into the story, was I remembered comments in the letters page joking that the Pack should fight Galactus and how ridiculous that would be. So hey, cosmic entity shows up! Not for a fight, but kind of a nod to that “debate”. But the reasons you guys posited for including Numinus (Whoopi Goldberg) were much better and fun to consider.

    Thanks for another great podcast, my Pack-Men. And by the way, I looked it up, and I don’t think Whoopi Goldberg ever appeared on “The Goldbergs”, which is a travesty! All together now:
    WHOOPI GOLDBERG!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Interesting bit of trivia for this issue, Whoopi Goldberg is in it. You may have missed it, but she was there. Shocking, I know.

      You know what? I don’t think I noticed that her belt buckle was a mobius… actually, I think that I did, but didn’t link the concept that it matched up with the homeworld. Good 👀 my friend.

      As to why their cutie marks are on their chests instead of their flanks. Flanks are a very very seductive zone on a Kymellian, so to eliminate a lot of “Eyes up here, buddy” they have them on their chests. (Yes, I just made up that fact, what of it?)

      Their real super power is family… the magic of family. Why yes I have seen the Fast and the Furious movies…why do you ask?

      Force Four does have an opening now, what with Matron having a new job and all, so Kofi joining makes me super happy. And yes, this year has been a long century. So very many years each month.

      I am glad you like all the reasons that I have forgotten for including Whoopi Goldberg in the comic. I am sure we raised some interesting and intelligent ideas.

      Until next time, my friend…Whoopi Goldberg!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I have finally caught up! Great show guys! I look forward to listening to more episodes as I go through chemo! Victory over cancer will be mine through great friends like you two to entertain us all!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.