Runaways V2 #2: True Believers Chapter 2

You can listen to the episode by clicking: Episode 100

We are still running away from our original idea….I mean it is the second issue, we have not given up yet.

Books and Beer

So let’s talk about this book. OK, there are a bunch of kids who have superpowers and some of them want to stop another kid from being a villain and others want to stop the others from being supers at all. Got that?…Good.

Look at These Guys

And what about this bad guy? Who is he, and why is he so important? Why does everyone want him? Why does he become evil? When will he become evil? And why is he wearing that uniform?

The Total Package

Well, we do not know much of the future, but we do know now…or at least the now being 15 years after the comic, and the now of the comic, but not the future of the then that was when the comic came out. Man, I hate time travel.

Gimme Five

I would like to be able to create a big hand with a bunch of metal. I think that it would be a great party trick. Something like, “nothing up this sleeve, nothing under my hat, now watch this!” And then, BAM! Salsa time!

GGGGGGGGOOOOOOO

To be truthful, I would just use the power for evil. And for burritos. And for a touchdown. I mean, wouldn’t it be cool if you could use your powers to kick amazing touchdowns? Or am I just thinking too small?

AAAAAAAAAALLLLLLL

So no to the touchdown, OK. Then I will use my unknown about super-powers to create roller skates whenever I need them. I mean, think about it, isn’t that what you always wanted? There you are walking down the street and then you think, can’t I be skating. Why yes, yes I can be.

BOOT TO THE HEAD

I have just been given a message saying that if I do not stop it (stop coming up with, and I quote, lame powers) I will receive a boot to the head. I do not want a boot to the head. I want to go on holiday.

I Crush You

Don’t forget to support us on Patreon, https://www.patreon.com/JeffandRickPresent.  We have started to release monthly episodes for our Energizer and greater tiers. We are covering the alternate versions mini-series that started in 2005.

You can also subscribe and listen to us on YouTube! 

We also have some merchandise over at Redbubble. We have a couple of nifty shirts for sale. https://www.redbubble.com/people/jeffrickpresent/?asc=u

Our show supports the Hero Initiative, Helping Comic Creators in Need.  http://www.heroinitiative.org/

Eighties Action by Kevin MacLeod
Link: https://incompetech.filmmusic.io/song/3703-eighties-action
License: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/

Divertimento K131 by Kevin MacLeod Link: https://incompetech.filmmusic.io/song/3663-divertimento-k131 License: https://filmmusic.io/standard-license


2 thoughts on “Runaways V2 #2: True Believers Chapter 2

  1. Hello friends!

    It has been a while since I checked in with the dynamic duo of the Pacific Northwest! I hope you and your families are doing well. I’m doing pretty good here! Just been somewhat busy.

    I had completely forgotten that Julie was in the Runaways title. I hazily remember the first series that was published as another one of BKV’s some simple it’s pretty brilliant pitches and I picked up a good portion of that run as well as this one when the book was being published. Too many life changes and home moves caused this short box irrevocably lost, so I am operating on my memories following you both on this and really enjoying the audio presentation! Your synopsis is such that I can mentally picture the events because the images of the book are being brought up from the subconscious.

    The artwork for this run is rather appealing and somewhat accurate for the age group of say 18-25. It still really causes me to crinkle my nose thinking that Julie is 15, yet financially independent and seeking an acting career for therapy? I have questions…. Primarily if her establishing motives were selected by a randomizer or via blindfolded dart throwing. And the outfit she’s sporting is great for Alicia Silverstone cosplaying as a high school senior and not a 15 year old. The other thing that gets me is the whole acting and networking track. Out of the siblings created and written by Louise Simonson, Julie has always seemed the most level headed and mature of the quartet. To dumb the character down to a character you could find on reality tv from that time just doesn’t ring true.

    Moving on to the drink portion of your shows… My curiosity rises some weeks. I haven’t been a beer drinker much in life outside the occasional Bud Light but your descriptions of look and taste as well as the can art has me to ask- Are some of these breweries online?

    Well, enough chatting for now. Once again, I hope you guys and your families are well. Congratulations on 100 episodes!

    Jeremy

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi buddy!

      Things are going well here too. Busy as well, it seems to be the state of our lives. Spent the last few days in the yard weeding…what a hoot.

      Shame that that short box got lost…the fun of moves right? I own a thing…now I don’t, weird. Glad we are helping dredge the old memory vaults though. Fun when dead memories come back. I have done that with some comics that I had read decades ago and had some recollections come back.

      I mostly like the artwork. Don’t love it, but it is a strong serviceable plus in my mind. The Julie stuff is not my head cannon Jullie, but that is my own problem. I did some age research, and it turns out….we have no real idea what her age actually is in this. I have seen between 14 and her saying she is an ex-teenager with some later stuff hovering in at 17. Her age is problematic in many different ways. I like her being 15 in this though so that I have something to yell about. As you know, I recently had a birthday, so I am basically in my “old man yells at clouds” phase. Still, not the direction that I pictured Julie taking.

      As to these breweries being online. Yes? I imagine that anything we mention should have an online presence, as everything does anymore. That said, I haven’t looked. Big help there, huh?

      Thanks for the congrats, it is much appreciated. Be well and I hope your up coming birthday is a great one.

      -Jeff

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.