Runaways V2 #4: True Believers Chapter 4

You can listen to the episode by clicking: Episode 102

Book and Beer

We are back with another exciting issue of comic books to talk about. We are also back with another random chat about the wonders and mysteries of being a resident of the Marvel Universe.

Eat Tar Losers

You must think that it is all sunshine and tar pits, but you would be wrong. Living in the BIG U means being ready for big things and big fights. These are the things that characters must deal with. This and a lot of cotton candy.

YUMMY

So if you are a group of kids..or two groups of kids, you really need to make a choice about what you want in this great big world. I mean, we know that you want the cotton candy, everybody does, but what else do these kids want. With the powers that they have, they could take the whole world.

Talllllll

At least the family has a home. Shelter is very important, even if that home is underground and cheap. Actually, it is better that way. No bills and no rent control. Free food would be cool. And maybe a little less evil overtones. That could be cool.

This Crib is Tight

The kids have each other, they have friends. In this world, you can do anything if you have friends. They help you when you are down, laugh when the funny things happen, and they will usually answer your call when you need help burying a body. Maybe I have said too much.

Change the Channel

I guess that what I am trying to say is that the kids do just fine without the parents. I mean, look at some of the goobers who are their parents. Especially that robot guy…you know that one who is Vic’s father. I mean, that guy is a jerk.

Fun’s Over, Come Home

Don’t forget to support us on Patreon, https://www.patreon.com/JeffandRickPresent.  We have started to release monthly episodes for our Energizer and greater tiers. We are covering the alternate versions mini-series that started in 2005.

You can also subscribe and listen to us on YouTube! 

We also have some merchandise over at Redbubble. We have a couple of nifty shirts for sale. https://www.redbubble.com/people/jeffrickpresent/?asc=u

Our show supports the Hero Initiative, Helping Comic Creators in Need.  http://www.heroinitiative.org/

Eighties Action by Kevin MacLeod
Link: https://incompetech.filmmusic.io/song/3703-eighties-action
License: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/

Psychedelic Crater by Kevin MacLeod
Link: https://incompetech.filmmusic.io/song/4248-psychedelic-crater
License: https://filmmusic.io/standard-license




2 thoughts on “Runaways V2 #4: True Believers Chapter 4

  1. Hey there friends!

    I have been derelict in my letter hack duties as of late. I hope to amend that this coming week. As of this writing (3/14) my school is on a spring break so I can start to really get through episodes that have accumulated in my queue.

    One thing I have always admired most of Brian Vaughn’s stories is the pacing he dictates the entire story arc. Re-reading this arc, I realized that this did feel a little underwhelming in spots when I had the series on my pull list. This was primarily due to the fact that it reads better as a whole complete story. You have some issues that are talking heads dominant and slowly advancing the entire story. However! There are few writers who can consistently nail a good page turn with a surprise reveal. That’s one thing that feels really good in this re-read, the knowledge of some reveal is approaching.

    I hope you both are doing well as we slowly enter spring.

    Until next time true believers!
    Jeremy

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi, Jeremy!

      You are not alone in your dereliction of duties. I went on a vacation for two weeks about a month ago and I am just now (maybe) getting back up to speed. I hope your Spring Break was a good one…and by that, I mean that I hope you were able to get through your podcast queue. Funny how they accumulate up, isn’t it?

      This really was a story in parts. The individual issues were fine, but they were really there to tell the whole tale. The story did have me guessing though, and I appreciate the multi reveals that were to be had. Didn’t really see any of them happening, so that was fun.

      Later, buddy.

      -Jeff

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.