Power Pack #44: What Price Victory?

You can listen to the episode by clicking: Episode 57.

20200422_220338

We are in the dark depths of Inferno! Demons have taken over New York City, the kids are fighting to save the city, and the Power parents now know that the kids have powers! Egad!!!

Chaos

So let’s take a look at this demon run New York. Is it really that bad? I mean, sure, there is an increase of out-of-towners, and they are pretty rude. Still, screaming at the kids is just not the right way to go.

Bad Grandma

Even worse than that is when your towns public transportation works against you. That is when you know things have gone really bad. I mean I can understand vacuum cleaners and mailboxes…but evil buses is too much.

Attack Bus

Ok…Demon cars are also bad too.

Bad Car

But this cannot be what this book is about, can it? I mean, the parents just found out about the kids powers, right? There has to be some fallout from that, right? What about the parents, how are they dealing with all of this?

Dad

I guess we can assume things are going badly since the parents are kinda…creepy.  Let’s just move back to the kids fighting demonic things. What have we got there?

Gassy Grandma

Farting demonic Grandma….ok. I give up. What about the New Mutants, they are in here right?

Happy Family

Ok…wait what? You know….I should just listen to the show.

And yes, I had to add a flatulence joke….cause I am a child.

Don’t forget to support us on Patreon, https://www.patreon.com/JeffandRickPresent.  We have started to release monthly episodes for our Energizer and greater tiers. We are covering the alternate versions mini-series that started in 2005.

You can also subscribe and listen to us on YouTube! 

We also have some merchandise over at Redbubble. We have a couple of nifty shirts for sale. https://www.redbubble.com/people/jeffrickpresent/?asc=u

Our show supports the Hero Initiative, Helping Comic Creators in Need.  http://www.heroinitiative.org/

Eighties Action by Kevin MacLeod
Link: https://incompetech.filmmusic.io/song/3703-eighties-action
License: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/

Spider’s Web by Kevin MacLeod
Link: https://incompetech.filmmusic.io/song/4406-spider-s-web
License: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/
Chucky the Construction Worker by Kevin MacLeod
Link: https://incompetech.filmmusic.io/song/3506-chucky-the-construction-worker
License: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/

3 thoughts on “Power Pack #44: What Price Victory?

  1. “BLOMPH!” HAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHA! Yes, I’m totally a child, too.

    In today’s comics, the story of Jim and Maggie knowing the kids are Power Pack would have lasted several issues more. But I’m not surprised by the quicker handling in this era, as comics were just starting to transition from done-in-ones to always having longer story arcs. So I was used to it. And they did a great job of showing this utterly breaking the parents, so it would’ve been torture to draw this out. For that reason alone, I’m grateful that it was resolved quickly.

    Maybe you guys talked about it, or maybe it’ll come up later, but I believe Jim and Maggie are still kind of suffering from Snark-induced brain damage, making them more susceptible to suggestion by the kids, which is part of why they stayed clueless up until this story. We’ll have to watch to see if this does indeed become more of a point.

    Boy, I liked this issue more than I remembered. I’m not quibbling over its standing, just that it was great art, and the depiction of the whole family hit me in the feels every time. So good!

    I wonder where Yoda the hamster was during Inferno?

    Stay safe, my podcasting Pack-men!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Blomph! There it is! Ahh, toot jokes… truly the height of comedic wit. 😉

      I agree with you that dragging out the mental breakdown of the parents would have been very painful, still I would like it to have been there. In part because that means we might have had more issues of Power Pack…but I am biased in that regard.

      Ah yes, the Snark brain damage. We have talked about it several times in the past, but not this time. I fully agree that that would be a great explanation of why the parents miss what’s going on, and would be blown away if that came up in story for a traumatic moment of them then wondering what else they might be missing. Ultimately though, Power Pack is a feel good and uplifting family book (with tons and tons of dark and drama) so I don’t think that they would ever make that a canon bit of info…that and I don’t remember it ever being brought up in any stories other than the ones that we make up in our musings.

      This was a great issue, and the art was on point. It is a big in the feels issue too.

      What happened to Yoda the hamster? FACT: Yoda mutated, transported thru time and became Hank McCoy!

      Be well, my friend. And until next time: Pack-Men Assemble!!!

      (I have been away from the show a bit…that is a thing we say, right?)

      -Jeff

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.