Power Pack #58: Star Struck

You can listen to the episode by clicking: Episode 76.

Well helllllo there big boy, how are you doing? It will sure be nice to see an old familiar face like Galactus in this issue. I mean, we have been inundated with with a mess of characters of mysterious origins or deep Marvel past, so it will be nice to have an old familiar character.

Eye See You

We need a big, and I mean BIG star to show up and set this Power Pack ship right. And the big purple people and planet eater is just what the doctor ordered.

I am Huge

Wait…..that is it. Like a few panels and the gifting of a parting gift. What is this nonsense! I want a planetary visit! I want an invasion! I want a comedic misunderstanding where he walks in on someone changing! I want my MTV!

Guy, Mysterious Guy

Instead, it seems that I just get some mysterious Joe Schmoe, creeping up in our favorite spaceship, with our favorite unconscious little boy. Yeah, bring on the lounge songs after your free spa day on Friday. I mean…WHO IS THIS GUY?

Go Ahead, Make My Cosmic-Day

Ok. Not a big fan of any of these rando’s in the comic, but if you can give me an alien packing a very large Terminator type gun, you will have my attention for a moment. I am just hoping that he is on his way to have a talk with some of the creative team.

Liftin Alex

At this point, we really do not know who is doing the most heavy lifting on this book. It probably is the fans, wanting something new or better than what we are getting. The concept is good, but it just fails in the wrong hands.

We Know Jim

Speaking of the people who are really upset, I think we all need to take a moment for Jim Power. Just take a look at this poor guy. One day, he has a wonderful beard, full of life and wonderful texture, then the next day…just a mustache. Why, I bet tomorrow it comes back…with a vengeance. We shall have to see. Oh, also he just found out his kids have super powers.

Blastin’

We will continue to look for and celebrate the positive as we move forward with this book. Sometimes it will take a really big energy blast to keep us on track, but that is OK. Sometimes we need to have a swift kick in the script to keep us in line.

KATIE!

And on this disturbing note, and picture, let’s take our leave of our fair heroes. They have got their hands full with this new team, and Alex’s changes and other stuff. Let’s just take a break for now, shall we?

Don’t forget to support us on Patreon, https://www.patreon.com/JeffandRickPresent.  We have started to release monthly episodes for our Energizer and greater tiers. We are covering the alternate versions mini-series that started in 2005.

You can also subscribe and listen to us on YouTube! 

We also have some merchandise over at Redbubble. We have a couple of nifty shirts for sale. https://www.redbubble.com/people/jeffrickpresent/?asc=u

Our show supports the Hero Initiative, Helping Comic Creators in need.   http://www.heroinitiative.org/

Eighties Action by Kevin MacLeod
Link: https://incompetech.filmmusic.io/song/3703-eighties-action
License: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/

Tyrant by Kevin MacLeod
Link: https://incompetech.filmmusic.io/song/5031-tyrant
License: https://filmmusic.io/standard-license
  

4 thoughts on “Power Pack #58: Star Struck

  1. Oof. This issue is not spurring me to pick up this era. Oof.

    I mean, look at the feet and ankles of “Liftin’ Alex”. That is some Liefeld-esque feet. No wonder he couldn’t lift Avon. Totally skipped leg day at the gym.

    Hmm? Oh, Avon. Yeah, that’s what I decided to call Evil Nova. Get it? … Sorry.

    Now I’m not positive if it’s still the case by this point, but way back in FF #50, Reed gave the Ultimate Nullifier back to Galactus at the end of the story, having bluffed Big G into leaving. But around this time, the Nullifier plays a big part in a way cool FF story written and drawn by Louise Simonson’s husband, what’s-his-name. Ah Weezie, I miss ya.

    And sure the Ultimate Nullifier is neat, but I preferred Amazing Nullifier, Spectacular Nullifier, Nullifier 2099, and of course, Friendly Neighborhood Nullifier.

    Hooray for finishing another issue! Maybe New Warriors won’t seem so bad after this. Maybe. Maaaaaaybeeeeee.

    Hang in there, my Pack-Men!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, for some reason this run doesn’t get much love from people. I personally don’t understand why as all the characters get a fresh make over and are barely recognizable. Plus, they introduce and travel with a homeless guy that sticks with them…well, an unconscious Franklin… through thick and thin… until he leaves with their space ship. Plus plus, balding Alex. I mean what isn’t to love?

      Alex heard your dis about him missing leg day and comes back with a vengeance for the cover of issue 60, where he is fresh off an everything day. I mean look at that boy! He is a mountain of a man!!

      Avon…yeah, I get it. I don’t want to, but I got it. Apologies accepted. 😉

      The name you are looking for is Mr. Louise Simonson. At least that is how I want to introduce him if I am ever moderating a panel for them.

      That Nullifier is a menace!! Bring me pictures of Nullifier!!

      I am getting into New Warriors to get a feel for it…it is a little rough so far. So your maybeeeeeee might be pretty accurate.

      Thanks for sticking with us, Tim. I’ve been missing you.

      -Jeff

      Like

  2. Oh boy. That cover. That infamous cover.

    I did want to share with you gents that I had realized why Tom Morgan seemed vaguely familiar to me. When Howard Stern was releasing his first book Private Parts, he did some superhero spoof called Fartman, and Morgan did the artwork for it. I believe it was an insert within the book that was published.

    Sometimes, I like to daydream this late era, early 90’s Power Pack is really a Lynchian fever dream Alex is having. Between the abrupt scenes, fragmented storytelling, and dropped moments all through this run, all that’s missing is Alex in the red room sitting across from Julie and she says backward “When you see me again, it won’t be me”.

    It’s better than the reality of the situation we have here. I look forward to Louise and June’s follow up mini! I hope there is a solicit coming soon! How’s the mini that just finished? I’m picking up the trade as there are no retailers in my area.

    Keep up the good work friends,
    Jeremy

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That infamous cover? What do you mean? It is just a picture of Galactus standing behind…oh… never mind…I see it now…and can’t unsee it.

      Moving on…Morgan did some work for Stern? Huh. Didn’t know that. But that is mostly due to me not researching creators to hard, or really paying attention to the work that they have done. Man, I am pretty ignorant about a huge number of facets of things that I actually enjoy knowing about.

      “a Lynchian fever dream Alex is having”. Love it! Great description. I still can’t get worked up to hard about the later day issues of the Pack, it is the rare comic that maintains a level of consistency that is awesome and amazing. Most every comic series that I have read has had some giant clunkers in there somewhere. Sometimes this is done by new comers to the book, bad one offs, and sometimes by decent creators that just dropped the ball. That said, the way the series ended is a pretty big stinker and rather insulting to fans of the series. I think that that is what I have bad feelings about.

      On the plus side, there is more good Power Pack in existence than bad, and for that I am thankful. The stuff we are covering on Patreon is great, Grow Up was wonderful. June and Weezie doing a new mini is the bomb, and other people are touching into the Pack with new stories (of which I have read one of because I am life swamped, but I liked it and want to read more). Sucks you have to wait for the trade, but at least that is something to look forward to.

      Later, buddy.
      -Jeff

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.